Why I hate SAFARICOM

Safaricom is Kenya’s best mobile service provider…but they suck, they are disgusting, they exploit, the only care about their profits, and their customer care line is always busy…ever busy!!

I recently bought their data bundles at 10/= Kenya shilling for 10 MB and 10 SMS. That sounds fair to me as well to everyone since I only wanted to check my email! And before I could finish opening the last email, a message from Safaricom came, “Your Daily Data Bundle balance is below 2.00 MB. Dial *544# to purchase or Okoa Internet bundle.” And then I decided to open my twitter account and after like 1.7 minutes, they sent me a USSD message telling me that I have an option browsing at 0.45 cents per MB. I immediately opened my calculator and started clicking…0.45*20=9…so I can use 20 MB for only 9 bob? Well then I bought nine shillings from my M-Pesa account and started browsing immediately BUT after I first checked how many data bundles I have used since I bought my phone…after like 2 or 3 minutes, another USSD message pops up this time saying I have a remainder of 1 bob. And I thought to myself, maybe something is synchronizing or updating on the background without my knowledge…but the data count should still count those data bundles, eeh? So let me check by how much did the count increase by. To my surprise, believe it or not, I had only used 2 MB extra! So like they only give 10% of what they promise.

Someone should create something better than M-Pesa and we’ll all swim away from Safaricom…they didn’t even create it! They just copyrighted a student’s idea, and it became theirs… According to filtered rumours that reached to my ears, the original owner of the idea was given ground $50,000 while Safaricom earns approximately $125,000 from the implementation of the idea, DAILY!!!

About Kabue Charles

I am an instigator of artistic, intelligent and mind boggling softwares. I love C#, envy C++, and one day I might try CUDA. I prefer solving complex and mission impossible problems in a new or old but innovative way. Am intrigued by machine learning challenges, security critical challenges, and privacy challenges like a real serverless peer-to-peer communication. I am usually literally stressed when a day goes by without learning or doing something new. I avoid repetition whenever possible. Away from computers, I enjoy capturing moments of life and nature with 1080 (…and above) pixel pictures and videos. I like details, accuracy, idealistic but realistic personalities. I love futurist’s but I hate fantasy. A decent, moderate and gentle character is my favorite. I avoid shame like a plague, confront my fears with facts, and I am very constant with opinions and beliefs. I love suits (…but don’t wear them), arsenal football club (…I only know the manager), and I have no favorite food. Reading and writing poems helps me retain my sobriety. I consider myself funny, privileged, a renaissance man and sometimes shy. I believe in things unseen and incomprehensible.

Posted on June 22, 2015, in Story, Technology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Say Something....

